## Realising European added value and strengthening accountability in the EU

# Award ceremony for the 2020 and 2022 ECA Awards for research on public-sector auditing

The 2020 and 2022 editions of the ECA Awards have focused on two topics of strategic interest, which lie at the heart of the ECA's work and goals: "EU added value" (2020 ECA Awards topic), and the "Accountability gaps in the European Union" (2022 ECA Awards topic).

The conference has two objectives: to celebrate the award winners on their achievements, and to build on the winners' research work, in order to analyse the implications of the current debate on EU added value and accountability for public auditors.

In the course of the event, we will pay tribute to the memory of two former ECA Members, in whose honour the 2020 and 2022 ECA Awards were organised.

#### Thursday 23 March 2023

K2 conference room and online (Teams)

2.00 p.m. Welcome coffee

#### 2.30 p.m. **Opening addresses**

Realising European added value and strengthening accountability in the EU – some introductory thoughts from ECA Members Mihails Kozlovs (Chair of the 2020 ECA Awards) and Nikolaos Milionis (Chair of the 2022 ECA Awards).

## 2.50 p.m. Paying tribute to the memories of Marcel Mart (1927-2019) and João Figueiredo (1955-2021)

The 2020 and 2022 Awards have been named after Marcel Mart, the first ECA Member for Luxembourg and President of the ECA from 1984 to 1989, and João Figueiredo, the ECA Member for Portugal from October 2016 to June 2021.

### 3.00 p.m. **Presentation of medals and award certificates to the 2020 and 2022 ECA Award winners**

Antoine Dumartinet and Carolyn Moser (2020 ECA Awards)
Daniëlle van Osch and Menelaos Markakis (2022 ECA Awards)

3.10 p.m. The CAP and Cohesion Policy after 2020: the growing demand for "European added value"

Antoine Dumartinet (2020 ECA Award winner)

3.35 p.m. Accountability in the Economic and Monetary Union – Foundations, policy, and governance

Menelaos Markakis (2022 ECA Award winner)

4.00 p.m. Accountability in EU Security and Defence – The law and practice of peacebuilding

Carolyn Moser (2020 ECA Award winner)

4.25 p.m. **Accountability in transgovernmental networks** 

Daniëlle van Osch (2022 ECA Award winner)

#### 4.50 p.m. **Concluding remarks**

From the members of the selection panel (ECA Members Mihails Kozlovs and Nikolaos Milionis, Professor Giuseppe Grossi and Professor Maria Luisa Sánchez Barrueco).

5.15 p.m. Close of the conference

2020

A tribute to Marcel Mart (1927-2019), the first ECA Member for Luxembourg and President of the ECA from 1984 to 1989.

2022

A tribute to João Figueiredo (1955-2021), who served as the ECA Member for Portugal from October 2016 until his death in June 2021



European Court of Auditors 12, rue Alcide De Gasperi, Luxembourg



eca-award@eca.europa.eu

